WCC Library

The WCC library furthers ecumenical theological education and research...

You are here: Home / E-resources / Databases

Databases

Databases, ATLA Religion Database, EBSCO Religion & Philosophy collection, Index theologicus, Globethics.net, Doctoral disserations and theses, Rero Doc, World Christian database

 

Banner databases

Reference and Full-text databases

ATLA Religion Database (incl. ATLASerials)logo ATLASerials ebsco

This database combines the premier indexing from ATLA Religion Database with access to ATLA's online full-text collection of major religion and theology journals.

Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), coverage in this database begins in 1908, with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the nineteenth century. Full text is provided for articles and reviews from more than 230 journals selected by leading religion scholars.

Content Includes: Over 632,100 article citations, 260,200 essay citations, 575,400 book review citations, Full text for more than 442,300 articles & reviews (More information...)

 

EBSCO Religion & Philosophy Collection logo RPC ebsco-databases

This resource is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies, providing a comprehensive full-text source of content as it pertains to the topics related to and discussed in disciplines of religion and philosophy.

With hundreds of full-text, scholarly journals, this resource provides an in-depth collection of resources covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies and more.  Content includes hundreds of peer-reviewed magazines and journals with coverage spanning over 100 years. (More information...)

Both collections can be cross-searched simultaneously via Ebscohost [restricted WCCNetwork]

Index theologicus (University Library of Tübingen)Logo Index theologicus-databases

Online database since 2006, the Index theologicus (IxTheo) covers published literature from journals and Festschriften in Theology and Religious Studies from the entire world. It is based on the literature collected at the Tübingen University Library in theology and religious studies, as part of its mandate and with support from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). The collection consists of ca. 2000 currently published periodicals, including numerous Festschriften and congress publications, 75 % originating from non-German countries. The University Library of Tübingen is also represented in the international Consortium of GlobeTheoLib, and hence cooperates closely with the Globethics.net/WCC sponsored digital library on theology and ecumenism.

Globethics.net (Global digital library on ethics, including GlobeTheoLib)

logo globethics.net-databases

Globethics.net is a worldwide ethics network based in Geneva, with an international Board of Foundation made up of eminent persons. It provides an electronic platform for ethical reflection and action. Its central instrument is the internet site www.globethics.net

The Globethics.net Libraries are digital libraries that offer registered users electronic access free-of-charge to thousands of full-text documents on ethics and related disciplines. Participants also have the possibility to submit their own documents to the libraries.

Theses and dissertations

RERO DOC Digital Librarylogo rero-ebooks

RERO DOC is the digital library of RERO, the Library Network of Western Switzerland, containing scientific publications of its member institutions, e.g. doctoral dissertations, master theses, research papers, as well as digitized historical collections originating from the member institutions. It serves as an open repository for the scientific research community of Universities and partner institutions of the network, also for WCC executive staff and the Ecumenical Institute at Bossey, faculty and students alike. See the =>WCC collection on Rero Doc.

Doctoral Dissertations on Mission (produced by the International Bulletin of Missionary Research in collaboration with Yale Divinity Library, and the support of Overseas Ministries Study Center OMSC, New Haven, Connecticut.)

This database incorporates compilations of missions-related dissertations published in the July 1983, July 1993, and July 2003 issues of the International Bulletin of Missionary Research, and has been expanded in its scope. First, it includes English-language doctoral dissertations without regard to country of origin. Second, rather than focusing narrowly on missions, it also includes dissertations dealing with Christianity outside the West.Updates to the database have increased the number of titles to over 6,250 as of May 2014.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). It supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,201,884 theses and dissertations.

Others

World Christian Database [restricted WCCNetwork]

The World Christian Database (WCD), produced by the Center for the Study of Global Christianity, Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary, includes detailed information on 9,000 Christian denominations and on religions in every country of the world. Extensive data are available on 234 countries and 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as on 5,000 cities and 3,000 provinces.